Accueil » Projets » Reconstruction and Upgrading Project in Baillergeau – Areba
Areba

Reconstruction and Upgrading Project in Baillergeau – Areba

Field Project

Start date End date Budget Funding
01/07/2011 30/09/2017 5 044 000 € Agence française de développement (AFD), Fondation de France, Union européenne ( UE )

Project

Launched in July 2011, the Reconstruction and Upgrading Project in Baillergeau (Areba) aims to combine post-earthquake reconstruction actions and actions to improve and upgrade a poor neighbourhood in Port -au-Prince called Baillergeau. Baillergeau has a population of approximately 8,000 people for a surface area of 20 hectares. This long-established poor neighbourhood located at the heart of Port-au-Prince had been badly affected by the earthquake of 12 January 2010.

The project initially provided social support to conduct a Neighbourhood Urban Planning study that was validated by an institutional Steering Committee on 13 March 2012. It continued with the implementation of this urban plan, facilitation of its ownership and respect by residents, and provision of technical and financial support for reconstruction and reinforcement of houses affected by the earthquake of 12 January 2010.

The project has three main objectives that determine the global approach of intervention: i) contribute to approval and respect of the urban plan while facilitating social cohesion in the neighbourhood and economic development; ii) contribute to the reconstruction and upgrading of Baillergeau, via actions to upgrade the neighbourhood that could have been conducted even if the earthquake had not occurred, and reconstruction via activities that were necessary after the demolition engendered by the earthquake; iii) contribute to debate and inform public policies in the areas of reconstruction and upgrading, and ensure proper management of the project.

 The main results achieved or expected are:

  • Support for the participative dynamic in drawing up the neighbourhood urban plan (2011-2012);
  • Information and communication on the urban plan in the neighbourhood (2012-2014);
  • Contribution to economic recovery in the neighbourhood and to restructuring of the building sector via training of 150 professionals and the improvement of their tools (2012-215);
  • Support for reconstruction of housing (2012 -2017): reconstruction support centre (CAR) providing technical and financial support for the reconstruction, consolidation or repair of houses;
  • Upgrading of pedestrian public spaces in Baillergeau (2014-2017) in order to improve accessibility, safety, visibility and drainage of corridors and stairs;
  • Improvement of access to urban services (2016-2017): upgrading/improvement of the public drinking water supply service; strengthening access to domestic sanitation and public connection sanitation; implementation of a waste pre-collection service;
  • Urban and water project for a ravine (2016 -2017): conducting upgrading work based on the detailed preliminary design approved by the Ministry of Public Works, Transport and Communications (MTPTC) and the Housing and Public Buildings Construction Unit (UCLBP);
  • Construction of a pilot re-housing operation (2016-2017) for approximately thirty families affected by the upgrading of the ravine, testing of construction methods that can be reproduced on a larger scale (2016 – 2017);
  • Mobilisation of the community and structuring reinforcement of a neighbourhood committee to fulfil its role as interface between the project team and the community (2014-2017);
  • Insertion of the project in its institutional environment, contributing to debate and informing public policies (2011-2017)

The project is led under the supervision of a Steering Committee involving the relevant Ministries and entities working in the area of upgrading and reconstruction such as the Ministry of Public Works, Transport and Communications (MTPTC), the Ministry of the Interior and Territorial Authorities (MICT), the Ministry of the Economy and Finance (MEF), the Ministry of Planning and external Cooperation (MPCE), the Housing and Public Buildings Construction Unit (UCLBP), the Municipality of Port-au-Prince, and the inter-ministerial  Committee on Territorial Upgrading (CIAT). GRET works as an operator under a contract with UCLPB, which is the owner of the project.

Back

Accueil » Projets » Aménagement et Reconstruction de Baillergeau – Areba
Areba

Aménagement et Reconstruction de Baillergeau – Areba

Projet de terrain

Date de début Date de fin Budget Financement
01/07/2011 30/09/2017 5 044 000 € Agence française de développement (AFD), Fondation de France, Union européenne ( UE )

Projet

Démarré en juillet 2011, le projet d’Aménagement et Reconstruction de Baillergeau (Areba) vise à combiner des actions de  reconstruction post – séisme et des actions d’amélioration et d’aménagement dans un quartier précaire à Port -au-Prince appelé Baillergeau. La population de Baillergeau est d’environ 8000 habitants pour une superficie de 20 hectares. Ce quartier précaire ancien situé au cœur de la commune de Port-au-Prince avait été fortement touché par le séisme du 12 Janvier 2010.

Le projet a consisté dans un premier temps en l’accompagnement social de la réalisation d’une étude de Schéma d’Aménagement sous Maîtrise d’Ouvrage publique validée par un Comité de Pilotage institutionnel le 13 mars 2012. Il a ensuite évolué vers la mise en œuvre de ce schéma d’aménagement, tout en favorisant  son appropriation et son respect par les habitants, ainsi que vers la mise en place d’un appui technique et financier pour la reconstruction et le renforcement des maisons affectées par le séisme du 12 janvier 2010.

Le projet poursuit trois grands objectifs qui déterminent la logique globale d’intervention : i) contribuer à l’approbation et au respect du schéma d’aménagement tout en favorisant la cohésion sociale du quartier et le développement économique ; ii) contribuer à l’aménagement et à la reconstruction de Baillergeau, l’aménagement se rapportant aux actions d’amélioration du quartier qui auraient pu être menées indépendamment du séisme, la reconstruction renvoyant aux activités rendues nécessaires par les démolitions engendrées par le séisme ; iii) contribuer au débat et à l’alimentation des politiques publiques en matière d’aménagement et de reconstruction et assurer une bonne gestion du projet.

 Les principaux résultats atteints ou attendus sont :

  • Accompagnement de la dynamique participative dans le cadre de l’élaboration du schéma d’aménagement (2011-2012) ;
  • Information et communication sur le schéma d’aménagement dans le quartier (2012-2014) ;
  • Contribution à la relance économique dans le quartier et à la structuration de la filière bâtiment avec la formation de 150 professionnels et l’amélioration de leurs outils (2012-215) ;
  • Accompagnement de la reconstruction diffuse de l’habitat (2012 -2017) : centre de soutien à la reconstruction (CAR) offrant un soutien financier et technique pour la reconstruction, la consolidation ou la réparation des maisons ;
  • Aménagement des espaces publics piétons de Baillergeau (2014-2017) afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité, la sécurité, la lisibilité et le drainage des corridors et escaliers ;
  • Amélioration de l’accès aux services urbains (2016-2017) : réhabilitation / amélioration du réseau public d’adduction d’eau potable ; renforcement de l’accès à l’assainissement domestique et dans les liens publics ; mise en place d’un service de pré-collecte des déchets ;
  • Aménagement hydraulique et urbain d’une ravine (2016 -2017) : réalisation des travaux d’aménagement sur la base de l’APD validé par le MTPTC et l’UCLBP ;
  • Réalisation d’une opération pilote de relogement (2016-2017) pour une trentaine de familles touchée par les travaux d’aménagement de la ravine, en testant des modes de réalisation reproductibles à grande échelle (2016 – 2017) ;
  • Mobilisation de la communauté et structuration renforcement d’un comité de quartier dans son rôle d’interface entre l’équipe de projet et la communauté (2014-2017) ;
  • Insertion du projet dans son environnement institutionnel, contribution au débat et à l’alimentation des politiques publiques (2011-2017)

Le projet est conduit sous la supervision d’un Comité de Pilotage impliquant les Ministères et entités  compétentes en matière d’aménagement et de reconstruction telles que le Ministère des Travaux publics, Transports et Communications MTPTC, le Ministère de l’Intérieur et des Collectivités territoriales (MICT), le Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances (MEF), le Ministère de la Planification et de la Coopération externe (MPCE), l’ Unité de Construction de Logements et de Bâtiments Publics (UCLBP), la Mairie de Port-au-Prince, le Comité interministériel d’Aménagement du Territoire (CIAT). Le Gret intervient en tant qu’opérateur dans le cadre d’un contrat avec l’UCLPB qui assure la maîtrise d’ouvrage du projet.

Retour